Skip navigation

The Complete Beethoven Sonatas: Concert II, Stephen Redfield, violin and Joanna Burnside, piano

Violinist Stephen Redfield and pianist Joanna Burnside continue their celebration of Beethoven’s 250th birth year (2020) by presenting Concert II of The Complete Sonatas for Piano and Violin. A formidable project, their four concerts, covering ten sonatas, began fall 2019 and will go through spring 2021.

The concert is part of the Faculty Artist Series. It will feature three sonatas from Beethoven’s middle period, No 4 in A Minor, No. 5 in F Major “Spring” and No. 6 in A Major.

The whole of these sonatas represent a sort of encyclopedia of violin and piano writing, with a thorough exploration of moods and characters, forms, stylistic and compositional approaches, and treatment of the instruments as an ensemble. They also span a sizable part of Beethoven’s life as a composer.

To play all the sonatas - and indeed to hear them - is to get to know that encyclopedia, and to experience that life span through the music. Drs. Redfield and Burnside will cherish this opportunity to grow as artists in learning and studying as well as in performing and sharing these works.

Friday, October 16, 2020 at 7:30pm

Marsh Auditorium
111 Southern Drive, Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Event Type

Concerts and Performances

Target Audience

Alumni, General Public, Prospective Students, Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Faculty & Staff


Arts & Culture



University Unit
School of Music
Google Calendar iCal Outlook